Forum: Wiki-translation discussion

A webinar: Achieving Efficiency and Consistency with Translation-Oriented Authoring

One of us should attend :-)

A Webinar: April 9, 2008 at 8:00 am PST/11:00 am EST/ 4 pm GMT

Consistency and quality are always the goals with product support content such as technical documentation. Shorter product development cycles that result from growing business demands add to the pressure, often thwarting a documentation team's best efforts. In this global economy, pressure is further heightened by the need to add multiple language outputs to a growing list of multi-channel deliverables.

When documentation creation gets pushed to the end the product lifecycle, with translation following "somewhere" behind it, the risk of mistakes and customer dissatisfaction is high. In fact, inconsistency within source documentation leads to numerous downstream issues and costs in translation. The impact can't be underestimated as multilingual product documentation becomes more and more critical in international vertical markets.

On April 9, 2008 at 8:00 am PT/11:00 am ET/ 4 pm GMT, the Gilbane Group discusses translation-oriented authoring as a means to stop the "ripple" effects — higher costs, poor quality, and inefficient processes — caused by generating content without considering multilingual delivery requirements.

http://gilbane.com/globalization/